IST Austria logo

Scientific Presentation & Conduct

Instructor/s: Thomas Henzinger, Sylvia Cremer, et al

Course Coordinator: Christine Francois

Description

This course introduces students to the basic concepts that apply to good scientific practice and a successful scientific career.

Course meetings are every Thursday (following the schedule below) from 10:45AM - 12:15PM in seminar room Mondi 2. There is no recitation for this course.

**Please note that due to student presentations, this course will begin at 10:00AM on June 13 and June20.**


Requirements/Exams

Attendance at lectures, participation in course discussions, and a presentation at the end of the 10 lecture series.


Credits

2 ECTS (except for 1st year IST Austria PhD students)


Registration

Please register for this course not later than Monday, February 25, 2013, using IST Austria's online registration tool.

Schedule

Date Topic Lecturer Institute
Thursday, March 7, 2013 The PhD at IST Austria Jonathan Bollback IST Austria
Thursday, March 14, 2013 Scientific Writing Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Thursday, March 21, 2013 Scientific Publishing - A Biology Perspective Sylvia Cremer IST Austria
Thursday, April 4, 2013 Holiday - no class
Thursday, April 11, 2013 Scientific Publishing - A CS Perspective Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Thursday, April 18, 2013 Research Grants and Proposal Writing Barbara Abraham
Sylvia Cremer
IST Austria
Thursday, April 25, 2013 Literature Search and Library Resources Patrick Danowski IST Austria
Thursday, May 2, 2013 Scientific Conduct and Integrity Dr. Nicole Föger Austrian Agency for Research Integrity
Thursday, May 9, 2013 Holiday - no class
Thursday, May 16, 2013 Scientific Lecturing - A CS Perspective Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Thursday, May 23, 2013 Scientific Lecturing and Poster - A Biology Perspective Sylvia Cremer IST Austria
Thursday, June 6, 2013 Intellectual Property, Technology Transfer and Entrepreneurship Egenhard Link IST Austria
Thursday, June 13, 2013 Student Presentations **Start time 10:00 AM!**
Thursday, June 20, 2013 Student Presentations **Start time 10:00 AM!**

Downloads

File Description
Course Announcement General course information, including information on taking the complimentary IST Shuttle Bus from Heiligenstadt Metro (U4) Station.
Lecture Notes 03.14. Scientific Writing Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 03.21. Scientific Publishing Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 04.11. Publishing from a CS Perspective Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 04.18. Grant Writing Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 04.25. Literature Search and Library Resources Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 05.02. Scientific Conduct and Integrity Lecture Notes
Attachment 05.02. Scientific Conduct and Integrity Singapore Statement
Lecture Notes 05.16. Scientific Lecturing - A CS Perspective Lecture Notes
Lecture Notes 05.23. Scientific Lecturing and Poster - A Biology Perspective Lecture Notes