IST Austria logo

Scientific Presentation & Conduct

Instructor/s: Thomas Henzinger, Sylvia Cremer, et al

Course Coordinator: Magdalena Lueger-Kaltenecker

Description

This course introduces students to the basic concepts that apply to good scientific practice and a successful scientific career.

Course meetings are every Friday (following the schedule below) from 10:30AM - 12:00PM in seminar room Mondi 3 (or alternatively Lecture Hall). There is no recitation for this course.


Requirements/Exams

Attendance at lectures including all student presentation sessions, participation in course discussions, a presentation at the end of the lecture series.


Academic Credits

2 ECTS (excluding IST Austria 1st year PhD students)


Registration

Please register for this course not later than Monday, February 24, 2014, using IST Austria's online registration tool.

Schedule

Date Topic Lecturer Institute
Friday, March 7, 2014 Scientific Writing Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Friday, March 14, 2014 Scientific Publishing - the CS Perspective Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Friday, March 21, 2014 Literature Search and Library Resources Patrick Danowski IST Austria
Friday, March 28, 2014 Scientific Conduct and Integrity Dr. Nicole Föger Austrian Agency for Research Integrity
Friday, April 4, 2014 Scientific Publishing - the Biology Perspective Sylvia Cremer IST Austria
Friday, April 11, 2014 Entrepreneurship Markus Wanko IST Austria
Friday, April 18, 2014 Spring Break - no class
Friday, April 25, 2014 Spring Break - no class
Friday, May 2, 2014 Scientific Lecturing - the CS Perspective Thomas Henzinger IST Austria
Friday, May 9, 2014 Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer Egenhard Link IST Austria
THURSDAY, May 15, 2014 Scientific Lecturing and Posters - the Biology Perspective Sylvia Cremer IST Austria
Friday, May 23, 2014 Research Grants and Proposal Writing Barbara Abraham
Sylvia Cremer
IST Austria
Friday, May 30, 2014 (09:00AM-12:00PM) Student Presentations
Friday, June 6, 2014 No class
Friday, June 13, 2014 No class
Friday, June 20, 2014 No class
Friday, June 27, 2014 (09:00AM-12:00PM) Student Presentations

Downloads

File Description
Course Announcement General course information, including information on taking the complimentary IST Shuttle Bus from Heiligenstadt Metro (U4) Station.
Presentation ToHe 03/07 Presentation by Thomas Henzinger on Scientific Writing, March 7, 2014
Presentation ToHe 03/14 Presentation by Thomas Henzinger on Scientific Publishing - the CS perspective, March 14, 2014
Presentation PaDa 03/21 Presentation by Patrick Danowski on Literature Search and Library Resources, March 21, 2014
Presentation Nicole Föger 03/28 Presentation by Nicole Föger on Scientific Conduct and Integrity, March 28, 2014
Presentation SyCr 04/04 Presentation by Sylvia Cremer on Scientific Publishing - the Biology perspective, April 4, 2014
Presentation MaWa 04/11 Presentation by Markus Wanko on Entrepreneurship, April 11, 2014
Presentation ToHe 05/02 Presentation by Thomas Henzinger on Scientific Lecturing - the CS perspective, May 2, 2014
Presentation SyCr 05/15 Presentation by Sylvia Cremer on Scientific Lecturing & Posters - the Biology perspective, May 15, 2014
Presentation BaAb/SyCr 05/23 Presentation by Barbara Abraham and Sylvia Cremer on Research Grants and Proposal Writing, May 23, 2014